Simpson University Inducts Nursing Students into Honor Society

For Immediate Release


Nursing Students Honors

REDDING, Calif.—Simpson University recently welcomed 15 new inductees into its Honor Society of Nursing.

The class of 2018 honorees include students from the four-year Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program who comprise the top third of their graduating class.

They were recognized during a campus reception March 20 that included Betty M. Dean School of Nursing administrators, faculty and staff, as well as other guests.

The new inductees are as follows: Aubrey Cronk, Nicole Faulknor, Jennifer Leaf, Sabrina Mantei, Shannon McKenna, Christopher Smith, Misha Thompson, Amber Whitehead, Alliece Maxwell, Jacklyn Miller, Kathrynne Raglin, Megan Watkins, Janette Comas, Robbin Borden, and Kate Bode-Guzman.

“You are being honored because you’re turning into the gatekeepers of the nursing profession,” Rebecca Swartzman, assistant professor of nursing, told the students. “It is a high calling. You will raise the bar.”

Swartzman challenged the group to respect others, to stay committed to care of all patients, and to take time for themselves, among other charges.

The inductees came forward to sign the Honor Society of Nursing book and to receive red honor cords and a certificate.

Mark Schneider, assistant professor of nursing, gave the benediction.

“You guys are the best of the best,” he told the group. “You give us hope for our profession.”

The Honor Society of Nursing is patterned after Sigma Theta Tau International, founded in 1922 by six nurses at what is now Indiana University School of Nursing. The mission of the honor society is to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership and service.

The Honor Society of Nursing includes graduates from 2013 to the present; other members include Hannah Hoffman, Laura Kobzeff, Patricia Brown, Jenna Curato, Emily Ganim, Kimberly Vierhus, Cirby Clark, Emily Colombini, Sean Smith, Rhonda Joyce, Brandi Hess, Haley Nguyen, Julie Tibbetts, Kristie Stephens, Linda Henrich, Andrea Caldwell, Rebecca Swartzman, Mark Schneider, Meredith Lemley, and Misty Smith.

For more information about Simpson University’s Betty M. Dean School of Nursing, visit




Simpson University, established in 1921, is a Christian university offering undergraduate, graduate, and teaching credential programs. The university celebrated its 25th year in Redding and the completion of a Science and Nursing Center in 2014. Academic programs include ASPIRE, a degree-completion program geared toward working adults with both on-campus and online course offerings, including degrees in psychology and organizational leadership. For information about the university, or to arrange a campus visit, call 1-888-9-SIMPSON or visit


Contact: SU Public Relations
(530) 226-4737