Professor of the Year Winners 2016

At the end of each Spring Semester, a faculty member is chosen to receive the Professor of the Year award. Nominations are submitted by faculty members and students. Consideration is given to (1) teaching excellence, (2) student counseling, guidance and advisement, (3) scholarship/writing, (4) community service, and (5) general support of the University’s mission.

Traditional Undergraduate Program

2016 Traditional Undergraduate Professor of the Year Dr. Cherry McCabeCherry McCabe, J.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science

Dr. Cherry McCabe has a B.A. from the University of California, Los Angeles and her J.D. from California Western School of Law.

Student Comments:

“Professor McCabe is one of the kindest, most genuine professors on campus, who takes the time to get to know each and every student individually.”

“She goes above and beyond to teach, mentor, and genuinely cares for every student. She exemplifies the core values of Simpson University and makes learning fun and interesting.”

“This professor is passionate about her field; she encourages students to get involved in outside and school communities; she creates an engaging, personal environment in which her students can learn and contribute.”

School of Adult Studies

2016 School of Adult Studies Professor of the Year Dr. Robert HughesRobert Hughes, Psy.D.

Adjunct Professor of Psychology

Dr. Hughes received his B.A. in psychology from Westmont College. He has an M.A. from Fuller Theological Seminary in Leadership and an M.A. in Clinical Psychology from Antioch University. He has a Doctorate in Psychology from Fuller Theological Seminary in Clinical Psychology.

Student Comments:

“Dr. Hughes is the best professor and teacher I have ever had. He is always encouraging to all students and very knowledgeable in his field. I really appreciate the time he has given to teach. He has encouraged me to pursue a career in psychology.”

“Dr. Hughes is the consummate professional seamlessly weaving the Science of Psychology with theology. While lecturing, he draws students in with words of affirmation in interaction. Outstanding.”

“Dr Hughes was a very knowledgeable professor and was very engaging in his lectures. I personally was excited to go to each class session because of how he presented.”

  • Professor of the Year Winners 2015

    Traditional Undergraduate Program

    2015 Traditional Undergraduate Professor of the Year Dr. John AyabeJohn Ayabe, Ph.D.

    Associate Professor of History

    Dr. Ayabe received his B.A. in history from Wheaton College, a Master of Divinity from Trinity Evangelical Divinity School and a Ph.D. from Saint Louis University.

    Student Comments:

    “Dr. Ayabe cares for his students. He is upbeat and loves to keep them excited to learn. Dr. Ayabe goes above and beyond to ensure that his students are receiving a fun education. He is one that believes that learning is supposed to be exciting and interesting. This is what I like most about him. Not only does he care for his students in the classroom, but outside as well. Dr. Ayabe makes a point to come to school events to show his support for his students. He is a one of a kind professor.”

    “Dr. Ayabe has worked diligently over the past few years on many aspects related to furthering the mission of Simpson University.”

    “He is an excellent teacher. He is genuinely interested in what he teaches and makes time for students.”

    School of Adult Studies

    2015 School of Adult Studies Professor of the Year Wally QuirkRobert “Wally” Quirk, M.A.

    Assistant Professor of Business

    Professor Quirk received his BA in psychology from USC and a MA in Management from Sonoma State.

    Student Comments:

    “Wally has been on teacher who seems to make every class understandable.”

    “Honest, helpful, genuine, sincere, funny, forgiving”

    “His teaching style is one of the most unique that I have ever experienced.”

    “He has explained throughout the entire process just how the information we are learning will be used. Knowing the relevance of the information makes it more meaningful.”

  • Professor of the Year Winners 2014

    2014 Traditional Undergraduate Professor of the Year Dr. William GriffinWilliam Griffin, Ph.D.

    Assistant Professor of Ministry and Bible

    Dr. Griffin has a Ph.D. from the Graduate Theological Union, Berkeley, a Master’s of Divinity from Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary and a BA from the University of California at Davis.

    Student Comments:

    “His passion for what he is teaching is poured out for his students every day. It is evident in the way he conducts his class sessions. I often see him around campus mingling with the student population. He asks and cares about each and every one of his students. His influence here at Simpson is often brought up by both students and professors alike. He is great.”

    “I had Professor Griffin as a teacher last year and he is incredible. He is always interacting with his students, meeting with us, and answering the questions we have raised in the classes he taught about God, the Word and overall life. He is very passionate about what he teaches and the position he holds as a professor and he shows that every single day. He’s an overall amazing man of God and he deserves to be professor of the year.”

    2014 School of Adult Studies Professor of the Year Patty TaylorPatty Taylor, M.A.

    Adjunct Professor of Organizational Leadership (ASPIRE)

    Ms. Taylor has her M.A. in Social Science with an emphasis in Leadership from Azusa Pacific University. She also has a B.A. in Organizational Leadership from Simpson.

    Student Comments:

    “She has great teaching skills. Wonderful heart, kind and caring.”

    “She touched us from her heart first and then to experience the materials. She embraced who we were. Curriculum was engaging, unique and inspiring. She is passionate and activated so many during her time with us.”

    “Engaging and truly believed in us. She pulled out the very best in us.”